HealthEU brings more mental and medical health resources to students, faculty and staff

Dean of Students Jana Lynn Patterson provided an update on campus-wide mental and physical health for the Elon community, Sept. 1, at the first business meeting of the Student Government Association of Elon University for the 2022-23 academic year. During the meeting, three students were appointed to the Senate and three students were appointed to new roles.

According to Patterson, a major highlight for the 2022-23 school year will be the development of greater visibility and centralized information around wellness and wellness program initiatives for Elon. Leading this charge, Patterson announced the creation of HealthEU — a new organization dedicated to providing mental health resources to students, faculty and staff.

“We had seen that there were so many wonderful things about well-being and well-being across the university, but they weren’t centralized and they weren’t in a place where people could easily find them,” Patterson said. “It’s really a widespread effort to connect students, faculty and staff to needed resources.”

Through a partnership with TimelyCare, Patterson said the university will be able to provide increased access to mental health and medical services. By downloading the TimelyCare app or visiting, students can access 24/7 mental health support and scheduled on-demand medical visits. Through referral by counseling services, students can also have licensed counselors and psychiatric services from anywhere in the country.

Patterson also said Vice President for Student Life Jon Dooley will develop plans for a new on-campus wellness center later in the fall semester.

Sophomore Clara Watkins has been named chief of staff and senior Isaias Reyes-Martinez has been named director of wellness and wellness. Watkins and Reyes-Martinez were nominated by unanimous vote.

Senior Chase Solomon was named a senior class senator, second Amanda Jacobson was named a health and science senator and junior Cavan O’Brien was named a senator for the Love School of Business, all unanimously. .

In the evening’s final unanimous vote, sophomore president Alexa Morrissey was named assistant vice president of communications.

SGA will host a town hall event open to the student body on September 8 at 7:30 p.m.

Comments are closed.